#BlackRiflesMatter

Ok, this post is mainly just for fun…

I took the opportunity to go to the range today, both to renew my club membership and also to zero a carbine that I’ve been modifying based on my recent experience in a Defoor Carbine class.

Stag Arms AR, Freedom Munitions training ammo, and a Multitasker Series 3 Multitool.
Stag Arms AR, Freedom Munitions training ammo, and a Multitasker Series 3 Multitool…

As it’s configured right now, the carbine is a complete Stag Arms AR, although I did purchase the upper and lower separately.

Components and configuration:

  • Magpul CTR stock
  • Magpul MOE pistol grip
  • Magpul Enhanced Trigger Guard
  • ALG Defense Advanced Combat Trigger
  • BCMGUNFIGHTER QD End Plate
  • Sprinco Enhanced Power Buffer Spring and H2 buffer
  • Stag Arms LE/SBR upper with a 14.5″ chrome lined M4 profile barrel, carbine length gas system, 1/7 twist, M4 feed ramps, and an “F” marked FSB
  • Permanently attached AAC 51T BLACKOUT Flash Hider
  • BCMGUNFIGHTER Charging Handle Mod 5
  • Midwest Industries Gen2 Free Float Handguard
  • Aimpoint Comp ML2 in a QD Larue Tactical LT150 for lower 1/3 co-witness
  • Daniel Defense A1.5 Fixed Rear Sight with XS Sights Same Plane Rear Aperture
  • Blue Force Gear Vickers Sling with sewn in QD sling swivels secured at the receiver end plate and near the barrel nut

I recently changed my buffer and buffer spring weights in this carbine in an attempt to optimize my ejection pattern. Based on my range trip today, I may need to install an H3 buffer or even heavier spring… Since I swapped optics and BUIS, I zeroed the carbine in its current configuration at 100 yards with my preferred training ammunition.

For now, this is my backup carbine. I do still need to add a light… I would prefer a mid-length gas system and a longer rail, but I’m working with what I’ve got right now. As long as it’s reliable, it’s certainly adequate for my purposes.

(See this new post for more info on my current carbine configurations…)


I also spent a little time behind my GEN4 G19 today. I shot the “Aiming for Accuracy” drill described by Tom Givens in his latest Rangemaster Newsletter. With 30 rounds fired at distances ranging from 5-25 yards, the drill is challenging from an accuracy standpoint. I was able to easily shoot the drill within the par times specified, but perhaps I should slow down since my accuracy suffered. Out of a possible score of 300, I would estimate that I shot almost, but not quite, a 200. Givens states that a score of 270 or above is “pretty good shooting,” so I’ve got some work to do! I didn’t have the specified B8 target, but I improvised…

My target after shooting the
My target after shooting the “Aiming for Accuracy” drill…

I would recommend that you try this drill on your next range trip, since it stresses accuracy at varying distances under modest time pressure and can be performed at almost any range that has a 25 yard lane available. Note that this drill is a good example of why you should own a shot timer. Also, if you’re not yet reading the Rangemaster monthly newsletter, I highly recommend it. Good stuff!


I hope y’all have enjoyed this post, it’s a little different from our normal content… Let me know in the comments!


(P.S. – I just recently discovered the #BlackRiflesMatter hashtag, and I wanted to include it on the blog somewhere, hence the title of this post!)

One thought on “#BlackRiflesMatter

Leave a Reply

