Happy Thanksgiving!

I communicated a bit with John yesterday, and we agreed we should post a little something about Thanksgiving.

So, with no further ado, here are some random thoughts:

  1. First and foremost, enjoy! I’ve always loved Thanksgiving because it involves “the 3 F’s”: Food, Football, and Family. Food is key; the classic Thanksgiving meal being pretty much my favorite meal. Although my overall interest in football has been waning in recent years (small children sucking up my Sundays and a crappier product being put out by the NFL each year being the biggest culprits, I suppose), I still follow it closely and enjoy watching it with my Dad. And then there’s family. Though estranged from part of my family, now that I have my own kids and will have my parents and some friends visiting, it’s just a special day.
  2. Let us all remember those who have to work on Thanksgiving and do not get to spend much time with their families. This could be those who, in order to feed their families and pay their rent, are stuck working crappy hours at Wal-Mart or the like. It also includes our armed forces and first responders, all those in uniform helping to keep us safe. John is among those stuck working most of the day.
  3. Remember, as we go to parades or explore Black Friday sales and such, to maintain situational awareness . Be armed if you can legally do so, carry a Blow Out Kit, and don’t go crazy with the alcohol. Also, when driving, be patient and courteous, as hard as that can be at times. “Be alive when you arrive.”
  4. Finally, I’m thankful about the success of the blog. John and I used to discuss many of the things that developed into blog articles. We felt like others might benefit from the things we’ve learned in training and in our discussions. We get to see the stats, and though they aren’t Earth-shattering, they have, to a large degree, exceeded our expectations to this point. Obviously, there are at least some people out there who have an interest in what we are saying, so we thank you for reading. We hope to continue to bring you relevant, well-written articles on a variety of topics, and we look forward to having you along as we (hopefully) continue to grow.

So, in speaking for myself and John, we wish you a safe and Happy Thanksgiving.  We hope you get to share it with those you care about the most, eat some good food, and just have a good time.

All the best!

Leave a Reply

