Glock Modifications, Part 3 – Trigger

In the first installment of this series on common Glock modifications, I mentioned three areas that are commonly addressed in the aftermarket. Namely, grip, sights, and trigger. The Glock trigger is actually not all that bad to begin with, but there have nonetheless been numerous attempts by more people than I can count to make it better. Compared to a 1911 or to the single action trigger on a traditional double action pistol, it sucks. Compared to some double action only triggers, it’s great. The good is that it is a relatively short and consistent trigger press. The bad is that there is a fair amount of take up and the actual break can perhaps best be described with the adjective “spongy.” This is primarily due to the use of plastics in the trigger group housing. Various solutions have been offered to remedy these complaints, including different connectors, different spring combinations, and different trigger shoes.

I am generally not a fan of modifying triggers on carry guns, mainly due to perceived liability concerns. I had the opportunity to briefly speak with Andrew Branca, author of “The Law of Self Defense,” at this year’s Rangemaster Tactical Conference and I specifically asked about trigger modifications. The short answer is that altering trigger weight may come under scrutiny in a legal proceeding, but the actual trigger shoe is likely irrelevant, if even noticed at all.

Up until recently, I had not done anything to the triggers of my Glocks other than briefly playing around with an OEM Glock “minus” connector, the same as is standard in Glock’s pistols intended for the competition market. I decided long ago that I didn’t want to carry my gun with a “minus” connector, so I left it stock. When I did finally upgrade my trigger, it actually had nothing to do with the trigger press or weight. Instead, it had everything to do with the trigger reach.

As I mentioned when discussing the grip work I’ve had performed on my G19, I have smaller hands, and a stock Glock is a bit too big for me. A trigger that reduces trigger reach is just one more modification that helps the gun fit my hand better. My first aftermarket trigger was the TAC Trigger from Overwatch Precision.

OP trigger

The flat trigger shoe is advertised as reducing trigger reach by 0.24 inches, a relatively significant distance in context. The trigger uses an OEM Glock trigger bar and does not change any other components. I felt that I could easily articulate why I made this particular modification if I was ever called upon to do so. Indeed, the reach to the trigger face for my finger was greatly improved. In truth, I was hard pressed to discern any overall difference in the actual break of the trigger as compared to stock. The geometry is different, and some may perceive it to be a superior feel. Ultimately, I traded that trigger for a different one that I like even better.

SSVI Tyr

I’ve consistently heard good things about the SSVI Tyr Trigger, ranging from a positive RECOIL review to an informal endorsement from Steve Fisher in a Practically Tactical YouTube video (relevant comments at ~ 11:40). Similar to the TAC trigger from Overwatch Precision, the Tyr trigger changes only the trigger shoe and therefore only the geometry and leverage of the trigger manipulation. The weight of the trigger, while perceived as different, is still dependent on all the stock springs. In the stock trigger, the wall of resistance before the shot breaks is forward of the trigger pin pivot point. With the Tyr trigger, it is below the pivot point. With increased leverage, the trigger pull is improved. While the Tyr trigger is not necessarily advertised as reducing trigger reach, a side by side comparison with the Overwatch Precision trigger reveals that it does in fact reduce the trigger reach. And to my finger, it feels better as well. Whether this is due to the trigger being slightly curved or due to different trigger shoe geometry I can’t say, but subjectively, I think it is the better of the two. Again, having changed nothing but the trigger shoe in my carry gun, I am more comfortable with any potential legal liabilities. The trigger shoe is affixed to a stock trigger bar, and the trigger housing holds stock springs and a stock “dot” connector. The aftermarket trigger shoe allows me to more easily use a gun that would otherwise be too big for my hand.

As mentioned above, most other trigger improvement strategies involve using different springs and connectors. I am simply too ignorant of the multitude of options to speak intelligently about them. For my purposes and reasons, I’m satisfied with my mostly stock trigger components and I can easily articulate why I’ve made the changes that I have.

One thought on “Glock Modifications, Part 3 – Trigger

Leave a Reply

