Some Thoughts on Single Point Slings…

Almost always, I prefer a quick adjust or simple 2-point sling on a long gun. There are, however, two scenarios where I might consider using a single point sling instead. The first is with an AR pistol and the second is with a shotgun. The AR pistol is light and handy, and can benefit from the quick handling characteristics of a single point sling, allowing for easy shoulder transitions when working around cover. In addition, since the AR pistol is short and light, it doesn’t really bang around when hanging slung like a larger carbine might. Having said that, I now run a 2-point sling on my AR pistol for consistency among my different weapons. Regarding shotguns (and specifically pump action shotguns), I think the single point is ideal, as there is no sling material forward of the receiver to interfere with your support arm when manipulating the pump action. As well, most home defense shotguns are also shorter weapons that benefit from quick handling characteristics inside structures.


This post is in effect going to be a mini-review of two different single point slings that I have used. The first I’m going to discuss is made by Northeast Tactical. The sling features an adjustable loop made with 1 ½” wide webbing with a short section of elastic bungee cord attached to a trigger snap. The trigger snap clips into a small loop incorporated into a receiver end plate. The Northeast Tactical Single Point Elastic Cord Sling is also available with a snap hook, MASH hook, or quick detach push button swivel. Although I really like this sling, I have gravitated away from it due to the fact that it wasn’t really quick release if I ever had to get out of the sling in a hurry. I’ve heard stories of people being thrown around after an attacker grabs onto their weapon and a tussle ensues. The above point notwithstanding, I have had my Northeast Tactical sling for years and I like it for what it is.

Prior to my current 2-point sling, I had briefly installed a Wilderness Tactical single point sling on my AR pistol. I chose the sling because it was simple, robust, and featured a quick release buckle. I do have a minor quibble with the sling though. While the Wilderness Tactical sling does have a quick release buckle, it does not really have a quick disconnect feature to easily remove it from the gun. I solved this issue by mounting it with a quick disconnect sling swivel to a BCM receiver end plate. Initially, I had installed the sling using a Daniel Defense Carbine Burnsed Loop that I had lying around in the parts bin. This didn’t last long; however, as I often manipulate the charging handle on my AR pistol with my left hand while maintaining my strong hand firing grip. Invariably, I would catch my fingers on the receiver end plate loop. Done at speed, that was quite painful! The quick disconnect swivel mounted to the end plate mirrored my other AR setups, and eliminated the issue.


While I’m not currently running a single point sling, I am comfortable recommending the nylon products available from both Northeast Tactical and Wilderness Tactical. In fact, I have worn a Wilderness Tactical instructor belt for years and can attest that they definitely build quality nylon gear.

One thought on “Some Thoughts on Single Point Slings…

Leave a Reply

