Equipment Review: Raven Concealment Systems Eidolon holster

Elsewhere on the blog, I have mentioned how I am one of those rare breed of handgun owners who does not have the drawer/box/closet full of holsters.  I will, in using my “Buy Once, Cry Once” (see here and here) strategy, test “proof of concept” with cheaper alternatives before diving into the better, more expensive items (usually then selling off the cheaper alternative, if at a slight loss, to help offset the cost of the better item as well as keeping me from accumulating a bunch of “stuff”).  Through all of this, I had been mostly content with my personally (slightly) modified Dale Fricke Archangel holster for use with my Glock 19 and 26.

Being a smaller guy (a whopping 5’5 and 153 lbs), the Glock 19 is about the biggest pistol I can carry concealed.  Nevertheless, depending on type of clothing worn and how much I might have forked in at my latest meal, I sometimes felt like the Glock 19 was a little tough for me to conceal.  As noted in my article here, the Glock 19 is my favorite pistol, so this inability to consistently conceal it well annoyed me.

Upon the initial release of the Raven Concealment Systems Eidolon holster, I was intrigued.  A number of big names in the training industry got them and were using them right away (Kyle Defoor and Steve Fisher come to mind), but there were lingering doubts in my mind.  For one thing, one never knows who is getting paid to use a particular piece of gear (though in the case of Defoor, he helped design the holster, so it makes sense for him to use it).  For another thing, the holster, in every picture I looked at online, looked boxy and enormous!    Factor in its various accoutrements, like “the claw”, and it seemed like I would need someone to carry it for me!  A final knock against it was the cost, over $100 for the full “kit”.  I decided I would modify my existing gear to work for me as best as possible until such time as I might acquire a lightly used Eidolon (for cheaper) to try out.

As it happened, around the time I posted my article about modifications I made to my Dale Fricke Archangel (and, as it happens, someone commented that I should look at the Eidolon!), I scored a VERY lightly used Eidolon in the classifieds of one of the gun forums for $80.  The holster I got was the Glock 26/19 “universal” model for right-handed users (open-ended at the muzzle end, so the Glock 17 will also fit), and features a high shield on the body side and a low shield on the outside (perfect, as this would have been my preference if ordering from RCS).

20160512_225511_26886768772_o
The Eidolon with Glock 19

One of the great benefits of the Eidolon is the fact that there are many options for setting it up.  The end-user can set this injection-molded holster up with one or two belt clips, with or without a polymer “wedge”, with or without “the claw”, with one or two pull-the-dot loops (my preference for most holsters), and some adjustment for angle or cant if the user prefers to wear the holster in an alternative (to appendix) location.  The holster features easily adjustable retention (I prefer mine, in all holsters, set up whereby I can hold the holster upside down—over my bed or other soft surface—and have the pistol remain in place), and is also cut in such a way that a pistol equipped with a red dot sight, such as a Trijicon RMR, can fit.

20160512_230148_26376926833_o
Notice how the holster is cutaway for use with RMR.

I LOVE THIS HOLSTER!  There.  I said it.  I left mine set up the exact way it was shipped to me, with the two belt clips attached, the wedge in place, and “the claw” attached.  Let us look at each of these in turn.

Belt Clips

20160512_225805_26376869703_o
Fitted on my belt with the 2 belt clips.

I’m not usually a fan of belt clips (having tried the G-Code INCOG and finding its belt clips wanting), usually preferring pull-the-dot loops.  However, I must say that the belt clips do print less than loops.  Also, these are the best belt clips of any holster I have ever tried.  They actually make a “snap” sound when I position them on my Ares Gear Enhanced Aegis belt and hold on VERY securely.  Though some people are comfortable utilizing only one clip (citing the ability of the holster to “move” as they move, aiding comfort), I prefer to utilize both belt clips.  Perhaps if I one day switch to the loops I will entertain the idea of using only one.  But for some extra peace of mind security, when using clips, I prefer two.

I should also note that the belt clips are tuckable, but this is a feature I never use (on this or any holster), so I have not explored how well that system works.  If I do, I may come back and edit this review with my thoughts as well as a photo or two.

The Wedge

20160512_225611_26376857463_o
The “body” side of the Eidolon, featuring the removable wedge at the muzzle end.

Many holsters these days either come with–or offer as an option–a wedge, often made of foam.  This wedge will be attached to the body side of the holster down near the muzzle end.  The idea is to push the muzzle away from the body, thus levering the grip (above the belt) into the body.  I made my own for a few holsters as outlined here.  What I found with my own, however, is that the foam does eventually get mashed down from repeated use (I have found that the only foam that does not is a cut foam ball from a toy my kids have that shoots foam balls.  Sorry guys, you now have a little less ammo!).

The wedge on the Eidolon is not made of foam, but is instead made of a polymer that feels like rubber.  This makes it pretty comfortable, gives it a tackiness that aids in keeping the holster in place, and does a good job of levering the grip of the pistol back into the gut of the wearer.  The wedge is screwed in to the bottom area of the holster, which makes it very secure compared with Velcro options other holster makers offer.  Being screwed in, it is removable by the end user.  My only gripe is that I wish it came with more than one size/thickness of wedge to allow even more options for the end-user.

The Claw

20160512_225543_26375576434_o
Close up of “the claw” attached to the holster.

The Claw, as it is called, is a piece of hard plastic with ridges on it that resembles a claw.  It attaches to the holster body near the trigger guard area via two screws.  The claw projects out under the grip of the pistol and has a similar design function as the wedge at the bottom of the holster.  In this case, it fits inside the wearer’s pants and acts as a lever against the wearer’s belt to push the bottom portion of the pistol’s grip further into the gut.  Due to its design, it works particularly well with a stiff gunbelt such as the Ares Enhanced Aegis belt, as the belt’s rigidity gives the claw something firm to lever against.

20160512_230518_26912670271_o
“The Claw”, visible here inside the pants below the pistol grip, levers against the belt, pulling the bottom portion of the grip closer to the body.

I love the claw, and it is the thing that separates the Eidolon from so many other holsters.  It is so effective, in my opinion, that other holsters are now copying it (witness the butt-tuck adapter for the Archangel that John utilized here).  I had feared that I would get hotspots or the like from the claw, but so far the claw has not rubbed or irritated me in any way, and I have been using this holster, almost exclusively, for the last few months.

Final Thoughts

Clearly, I am a big fan of this holster.  Despite its bulky look in photos, it really is a slim design.  The modular nature of the holster allows it to be configured to the end-users preference, and the combination of the belt loop/clip positional options, the wedge, and the claw, help it do a fantastic job of concealment.  How good a job does it do?  Well, I will just say that when I put my Glock 17 in it, it conceals like my Glock 19 did in previous holsters I’ve used.  My Glock 19, in turn, conceals as well as my Glock 26 used to, and my Glock 26 is now invisible on me when I use this holster.

20160512_225901_26981041915_o
Here I am, with my Glock 19 concealed in the Eidolon in the appendix position.

If you have any thoughts or comments or would like to share your own experience with the Eidolon or another holster, feel free to comment below.  Thanks for reading.

24 thoughts on “Equipment Review: Raven Concealment Systems Eidolon holster

  1. It is interesting to see how every time one of the bigger companies releases a new holster, or a new feature for their holsters, everyone and their cousin tries to copy it. I like Raven Concealments offerings a lot, the only thing that has kept me from getting one is that they don’t (or at least at the time) didn’t offer any for the Sig P226. But, since I should be getting a G19 very soon, I’ll be giving these guys another look. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the praise. After a less-than-great experience with a big-name holster (Incog) supported by a big name (Haley), I was skeptical of this one. But it delivered, at least for me. In the end, holster choice is almost like footwear preference and is a very personal decision.

    So far, the major gripe I have heard about the Eidolon is that it’s only made–at least so far–for Glocks.

    Good luck!

    –Rob

    Like

Leave a comment